Rocio Herbert_new.jpg.HEIC

روسيو هربرت

المكسيك

انتقلت إلى الولايات المتحدة من المكسيك مع والدي وسبعة من أشقائي عندما كان عمري 15 عامًا. لقد كانت أكثر تجربة مدهشة أن ألاحظ كل الفرص المتاحة لي إذا عملت بجد بما يكفي لتحقيقها. بدت الحرية في اختيار مهنتي ومغامراتي أكثر جاذبية من امتلاك أسرة كبيرة.

لدي طفلان ، يفصل بينهما 10 سنوات ، تم التخطيط لهما بعناية. لقد قضيت وقتًا ممتعًا مع كل منهم وذهبت لخوض مغامرات في حياتي كنت أحلم بها عندما كنت مراهقًا صغيرًا.

أثناء دراسة الأنثروبولوجيا ، كان ذلك عندما لاحظت لأول مرة وربطت كيفية تأثير معدلات النمو السكاني المرتفعة على الثقافات والنظام البيئي والموارد. لقد تباطأ النمو السكاني ، لكنه لم يتراجع ، وهو أمر غير مستدام كما هو متوقع.

قصة كاملة:

"كانت والدتي الطفل الخامس في أسرتها المكونة من سبعة. كنت طفلتها الثانية من بين ثمانية. كان لديها خمسة منا خارج إطار الزواج قبل زواجها هي وأبي. كان هذا شيئًا سيئًا للغاية في المكسيك ، شيء مخجل. سألت والدي عن سبب إنجابه لهذا العدد الكبير من الأطفال. قال إنه كان اختيار والدتي. كان يعتقد أن لديها المزيد من الأطفال للتأكد من أنه سيكون أكثر التزامًا بالعائلة. سألت والدتي عن سبب إنجابها لثمانية أطفال وأخبرتني أنها لم تجد وسيلة فعالة لتحديد النسل. لم يجر والدي محادثة حول اختيار حجم العائلة. لقد فعلوا ما فعلوه ، كما فعل أي شخص آخر.

منزل عائلتنا ليس به مياه جارية. كان جلب الماء وغسل الملابس عبئًا كبيرًا. عندما كنت بالكاد في الرابعة من عمري ، كان لأمي شقيقتي التوأم. أعطتني مسؤولية مساعدتها في تربية إحدى أخواتي التوأم. لقد أخذت هذه المسؤولية على محمل الجد. عندما كنت في الرابعة من عمري ، لم أشك في ذلك. بعد فوات الأوان ، أرى الآن أن هذا ما فعله الآباء لتربية أسر كبيرة ، وخاصة الأسر الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المنخفضة. الأطفال الذين يربون الأطفال.

لم أتلق اهتمامًا محبًا وفريدًا من والديّ عندما كنت طفلاً. كان هناك الكثير من الأطفال والأعمال المنزلية. عندما كنت طفلة ، كرهت ذلك لأنه لم يكن هناك الكثير من الوقت للعب ، حيث أنفق الكثير منه لمساعدة والدتي في مسؤوليات المنزل وتربية الأطفال.

على الرغم من ثقل هذه المسؤوليات ، كانت هناك بعض الأشياء الجيدة. في أيام الأحد ، كان والدي يأخذنا جميعًا في رحلة إلى المدينة أو إلى الشاطئ. في طريق عودتنا إلى المنزل ، كان يتوقف عند مطعم صيني ويطلب وجبات سريعة. كنت احب ان! خاصة لأننا عادة ما كنا نقف السيارة خارج المطبخ مباشرة حيث يمكننا أن نرى هؤلاء الرجال الصينيين يطبخون تشاو مين. يمكننا أن نرى البخار يتصاعد أثناء الطهي ، والرائحة حلوة للغاية! لقد فتننا جميعًا به.

خلال هذه الرحلات العائلية يوم الأحد ، كنت أنا وإخوتي يقرأون جميع اللوحات الإعلانية ، وهو شيء ما زلت أقوم به حتى يومنا هذا. كنت محظوظًا لأنني نشأت في وقت كانت هناك حملة مقصودة في المكسيك لتقليل حجم الأسرة. كتب على اللوحات الإعلانية " La Familia Pequeña Vive Mejor ". كان أشقائي ، وهم ستة منا في ذلك الوقت ، يقرؤونهم ويكررون الكلمات. كان للكلمات صوت جذاب.

في سن المراهقة ، كنت غاضبًا. رأيت الكثير من النساء في سن والدتي ، وأمهات غير سعداء مرتبطات بأطفال ، وغير راضيات عن زيجاتهن. كان هناك ضغط ثقافي وعائلي كبير لكي تكون عذراء وتتزوج "بشكل لائق". كان هذا يعني أنني سأضطر إلى العيش في منزل والدي ، والانتظار حتى يعبر الشخص المناسب طريقي بطريقة ما ، وبعد ذلك يمكنني الزواج منه ، ومغادرة منزل والديّ ومن ثم إنجاب الأطفال. أنا فقط لم أستطع رؤيته بنفسي. أضع الزواج والأطفال خارج ذهني. شعرت أنني قمت بتغيير حفاضات كافية أثناء نشأتي ، مما ساعدني في تربية أشقائي الصغار. قررت أنني لن أستمع إلى والدتي وأمضي قدمًا في خطتي للحصول على التعليم. بالطبع لم يستطع والداي مساعدتي مالياً ، لذلك عملت وأدخلت نفسي في الكلية. كانت معركة مع والدتي لأنها لم تدعمني في القيام بذلك. هي ببساطة لم تستطع فهم ذلك.

بعد فوات الأوان ، أستطيع أن أرى كيف أن قراءة تلك اللوحات الإعلانية مع الكلمات La Familia Pequeña Vive Mejor أعطتني اللغة والإرادة لاتخاذ خياراتي. لم يكن علي أن أفعل ما فعلته أمي. يمكنني الحصول على تعليم. يمكنني اختيار حجم عائلتي.

Rocio Herbert_new.jpg.HEIC

ROCIO HERBERT

MEXICO

'I moved to the United States from México with my parents and seven siblings when I was 15 years old.  It was the most amazing experience to notice all the opportunities available to me if I only worked hard enough to achieve them.  Having the freedom to choose my career and adventures seemed much more attractive than having a large family.

 

I have two kids, 10 years apart, carefully planned.  I have spent quality time with each of them and have gone on to have the adventures in my life I dreamt of as a young teen.

 

While studying Anthropology,  it was then when I first noticed and made the connection of how high population growth rates affects cultures, the ecosystem and resources.   Population growth has slowed down, but not let up, and it is predictably unsustainable.'

FULLER STORY:

'My mother was the fifth child in her family of seven. I was her second child, out of eight. She had five of us out of wedlock before she and my father got married. This was a very bad thing in Mexico, something shameful. I asked my father why he had so many children. He said it was my mother’s choice. He thought she had more children to make sure he would be more committed to the family. I asked my mother why she had eight children and she told me she did not find birth control that was effective. My parents never had the conversation about choosing the size of their family. They just did what they did, as everyone else did.

 

Our family home had no running water. Fetching water and washing clothes was a great burden. When I was barely four years old, my mother had my twin sisters.  She gave me the responsibility to help her raise one of my twin sisters.  I took that responsibility very seriously.  As a four year old, I did not question it.  In hindsight, now I see this is what parents did to raise large families, especially low socioeconomic families. Children raising children.

 

I didn’t receive loving, individual attention from my parents when I was a child. There were just too many children and  household chores. As a child, I hated it because there was not much time for play, with so much of it spent helping my mother with household and child rearing responsibilities.     

 

Despite the weight of these responsibilities, there were some good things. On Sundays, my father would take us all out for a ride to town or to the beach. On our way back home, he would stop at a Chinese restaurant and order take-out. I loved that!  Especially because we usually parked right outside the kitchen where we could see these chinese men cooking chow mein. We could see the steam rising up while they were cooking, the smell so sweet!  We were all mesmerized by it.

 

It was during these family Sunday drives that I and my siblings would read all the billboards, something I still do to this day. I was lucky to grow up at a time when there was an intentional campaign in Mexico to reduce family size. The billboards would read  “La Familia Pequeña Vive Mejor”. My siblings, all six of us at the time, would read them and repeat the words. The words had a catchy sound.

 

In my teens, I was angry. I  saw too many women my mother’s age, unhappy mothers strapped with children, dissatisfied in their marriages. There was great cultural and family pressure to be a virgin and marry ‘properly’. It meant I would have to live in my parents’ home,  wait until the right person somehow crossed my path and then I could marry him, leave my parents’ home and then have children. I just could not see it for myself. I put marriage and children out of my mind. I felt I had changed enough diapers growing up, helping raise my younger siblings. I decided I was not going to listen to my mother and move ahead with my plan to get an education. Of course my parents could not help me financially, so I worked and put myself through college. It was a battle with my mother as she did not support me doing this.  She simply could not understand it.  

 

In hindsight, I can see how reading those billboards with the words La Familia Pequeña Vive Mejor, gave me language and volition to make my choices.   I did not have to do what my mother did.  I could get an education.   I could choose my family size.'